How to Cancel Service
Match.com is an online dating website that customers pay a premium to use. Match.com is also the owner of OKCupid, the free dating site. If customers wish to skip the dating charges, it is best to choose the free alternative rather than the paid website.
To cancel your membership on Match.com, log in to your account and click the Account button. Find the Change/Cancel button and click that. You will then be asked to verify your password. Click the Continue Cancellation button and then the Cancel Subscription button to finalize the cancellation.
Match.com services are billed in advanced for the selected period of time. When you cancel your subscription you will be able to use all PRO services until your current subscription has expired. When the expiration date passes, your account will be downgraded to the FREE version of Match.com.
Is There An Early Termination Fee?
No, there is no formal early termination fee when you cancel your Match.com account, but you will not be eligible for a refund when you cancel no matter how many months you’ve paid for in advance. You forfeit all monies paid when you cancel your subscription. Match.com also reserves the right to cancel your subscription at any time without telling you why they’ve cancelled your subscription and you will not be refunded for services paid.
If you are using a free trial of Match.com, make sure to cancel the subscription before the end of the trial to avoid being charged.
Early Cancellation Policy
There is no early cancellation policy, per se, but free trial customers must cancel the subscription before the due date or they will be charged for a PRO membership. Match.com does offer refunds for mistaken charges if the customer contacts customer service via the contact page on the site at http://www.match.com/help/contactus.aspx?lid=7.
Will They Work With Me to Avoid Cancel Fees?
There are customer service reports of Match.com refunding customers and other reports that Match.com will not refund a customer for anything. All plans are placed on an automated renewal so customers are charged for services until they choose to cancel – automatically. Many people sign up for six months and then forget about the charge and call for a refund after they’ve been charged to no avail.
If you have a problem with a charge you can attempt to contact customer service for a refund.